Paying Attention Was Not Easy

           Sick smile

You Weren't Paying Attention!                   When I was working in church years ago doing a side job the person in charge, often accused me of not listening.  Especially on that day when a man name George came in with a set of tools.  He gave some kind of speech for an hour standing across the room.     I did my best to try to listen to George by watching him talk the whole hour.  Unfortunately he had a beard and I couldn’t lip read half of what he said.  So I didn’t understand any of the instructions.   I got very bored watching him talk.   George stepped backwards and tripped over a bucket of paint, which spilled all over the floor.    One thing I did hear was him  swearing, the F word.  It was loud and clear. That’s all I heard.

  angry man

After George was done talking, Chucky told me to go do what George taught us. I told him that I didn’t hear what he was telling me to do.  That’s when Chucky flipped out .  He said that I wasn’t  paying attention and for me to stop playing games.   Then I tried to tell him I wasn’t playing around, that I did my best to listen.   He said that’s no excuse and walked away.

smile     Crying faceBoy, did he make me feel bad.   He wasn’t very  understanding when I tried to explain about my hearing problem.  Well either he was having a bad day, or just wasn’t educated on this subject.   So don’t assume that a deaf person is going to understand everything you say just because they are looking right at you when you talk.   And please don’t get impatient with deaf people when they can’t figure out what you said, if they can’t lip read you at the time.    People need to understand that deaf people can’t hear, and it’s not always easy to lip read others, especially from a distance.   It’s hard I know for the deaf at times.

About wanda4848

I was born deaf. The doctors thought I could hear, but my parents couldn't get me to learn to talk. When I was three, my mom took me to an audiologist who concluded I was deaf. That's when I got my first pair of hearing aids and took speech therapy to learn to talk.

Posted on February 27, 2013, in deaf articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Very true. I think it’s really that many people are uneducated, or have never had an experience with those who are deaf.

    Phil
    http://www.blog.theregularguynyc.com

  2. Yes, I wish the schools would educate everyone on being deaf. One day I might contact the schools and give them my ideas. So many people have no idea what deaf people go through in this world.

  3. What type of education would you give someone who was trying to communicate with the deaf?

  4. A person needs to stand right in front of the person and look straight at him or her so that the deaf can try to lipread what they are saying. And close up to. I can never lip read someone that is standing on the other end of the room or from behind me.

  5. What about writing things out? Is it just easier to lip read?

  6. I am hard of hearing. Yes, I’m profound deaf, but I can hear people’s voices when they talk with my hearing aids on. And I’m also able to talk ,so lip reading works for me. But there’s deaf people out there, that can’t hear anything at all, and can’t speak, they just sign to communicate.

  7. I found your blog web site on google and verify a couple of of your early posts. Continue to keep up the superb operate. I simply further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. In search of ahead to studying more from you in a while!…

  8. Thank you so much:)

  9. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested. Thanks!

  10. wonderful issues altogether, you simply won a logo new reader. What might you suggest in regards to your post that you made some days ago? Any sure?

  11. It’s actually a great and useful piece of info. I’m satisfied that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  12. You’re very welcome! 🙂

  13. Wonderful work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my web site . Thanks =)

  14. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other users like its helped me. Great job.

  15. Hello. impressive job. I did not imagine this. This is a splendid story. Thanks!

  16. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  17. Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write on my site something like that. Can I implement a portion of your post to my site?

  18. Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your web site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and simply could not come across. What a perfect web site.

  19. I do not even understand how I stopped up here, however I believed this put up was once good. I do not know who you might be but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in the event you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  20. Hola! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

  21. Thanks – Enjoyed this blog post, is there any way I can get an update sent in an email when there is a new article?

  22. Yes, just click the follow button on the upper right corner. Thanks so much for enjoying this blog post.:)

  23. Well I definitely enjoyed studying it. This tip procured by you is very practical for correct planning.

  24. Thank you so much Ray. 🙂

  25. Thank you so much Stevie. 🙂

  26. Thank you very much. 🙂

  27. You’re welcome and sure you can. 🙂

I'd love to hear your comments

F O O T B A L L I S T S

"Everything I know about morality and the obligations of men, I owe it to football." — Albert Camus..................... "If God existed, he would be a solid midfielder." — Aleksandar Hemon................……………...........................

Gods of Advertising

We make you want what you don't need.

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

David Cummings on Startups

Over 2,500 posts on entrepreneurship and startups

Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Poemhenge

Pendraggin's Poems

Musings of a Momma

hard of hearing mom living in a small town

Beth Teliho

Read. Ingest the words. Like little blue pills, they will affect you.

the write mother daughter

Smile! You’re in the WRITE place

Transmedia Newswire

Global Networked Economy - Technology | Media | Telecommunications

Geek Alabama

Social. Local. Smart.

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

The Nice Thing About Strangers

Creative Non-Fiction Short Stories. :) Travel, Oldsters, Love, and Compassion.

Caitlin Munn

"Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself." (Dewey)

dvisualyoga

ASL, Yoga, HoH, Deafness, Art

Independent Ethos

Handmade with vinyl and celluloid

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Lea At Sea

I love to write, I love to read and I love the sea.

indianseoz

Learn SEO with us

Flights & Frustration

The rants, ramblings and ruminations of a frequent traveller.

God centered mom

relentlessly replacing "me" with "He"

God centered mom

relentlessly replacing "me" with "He"

John Chow dot Com

The Miscellaneous Ramblings of a Dot Com Mogul

Sweet Mother

Where my Old writing lives!

totalovrdose

Grab some grog and read this blog!

