Delta Airlines Didn’t support me as a Deaf Passenger

Image

On Saturday December 22, 2012 I arrived at the airport in the early afternoon to take a flight into Detroit Michigan with my daughter. First thing we did was park and board the shuttle bus in the airport. Yes, I told the shuttle bus driver I was deaf because he was asking me where to drop me off. The driver didn’t follow me, and he continued to talk and not look at me so I didn’t understand a word he said. Therefore my daughter had to speak for me. And I never heard the rest. Then we went to check in our bags. As soon I gave the lady my license at the check in counter to check us in, I told her I was deaf. Listen, I can’t read minds, but the first impression I got was she gave me a very disturbing look as if she was pressured and uncomfortable as she didn’t know what to do since I was deaf. Then to cover up that look she smiled. She did not hand me any pamphlets or brochures with any information on any help for deaf passengers that the airport might have to help me. Therefore I assumed the airport had nothing. I looked at her hopelessly, after 40 years of flying, I thought she might have something to help me in the airport as a deaf passenger. Nope, she gave me my license back and gave me a big smile as if I was cool because I was deaf. Have a nice day is all said. She was a very nice lady, but since she worked there, she should have referred me to whatever services the airport had to offer for deaf passengers. No, she didn’t, and I knew nothing about their services.

Then we proceeded to the Security Checkpoint area. This is when I get nervous because after 40 years of flying, I have never been able to understand the guards in this section of the airport. There were closed captioned screens above us, about three of them. This is the first time I saw them and I applaud the airport for finally putting those up. These things were fantastic for the deaf. But there was still a problem. I didn’t see anyone using sign language that worked in the Security Area, so I did my best to lip read. The worst part was walking through the booth and putting your arms up as they scan you because they tell you to look straight ahead at the wall instead of the person that is checking you through. Therefore I couldn’t even lip read or understand what that guard was saying. I just pray to god, I don’t do the wrong thing when not hearing what the guards are telling me to do there. This is the most difficult part. When are the airports going to notify the guards in the security area that they have a deaf passenger going through and needs someone there to use sign language to tell them how to proceed through? Believe me, I had to go through this for 40 years of not understanding what is going on. Same old story, but my daughter would be there to save me in case I said or did the wrong thing. I was worried that the security guards might think I wasn’t following their directions if I didn’t hear what they told me to do. Well if your airport had trained some of your staff sign language to help the deaf, why didn’t you provide me with that help when I was there? Why didn’t you send me any information on this, or put in the paper, or on commercials on t.v. I never knew what help you had there.    Oh wait, you have your information on the websites?   Where?  My computer broke down, I can’t get online to find anything.    As a matter of fact I don’t always use the internet. So how am I going to find out about your deaf services if I don’t use the internet?     Where do I find it?  So you have phone numbers to call  regarding deaf services?    I can’t hear well on the phone, and I don’t use the TTY.   And when I tried to call the Delta Airlines in Dec. for help on my Caption Call phone, their line was always busy with recordings .     I could never get through to you.   So you have a website for deaf passengers at the Delta Airlines?     Why do you tell me this after my flight is over, and where is it online?   Why didn’t you notify me before I arrived at that airport so we could make some kind of arrangements?

images (5)

We head to our gate. I’ve read in the papers that airports now provide captioned monitors at the gates. So I couldn’t wait to see this newest invention because I never saw this before. Well when we got to our  gate, there was nothing there. No closed captioning monitors, no screens, no pamphlets for the deaf to look at for information on where to get help. All there was the desk and the door to the plane and our empty seats. The gate attendant made a number announcements over the microphone. I didn’t understand a word of any of them. Now I was sitting here worried I was going to miss my plane because I didn’t know when we were supposed to go on. On a few occasions I asked the gate attendant to wave to me when I was supposed to board my plane. Well, that didn’t help because the gate attendant forgot to wave to me, and I nearly missed that plane. Sitting at the gate I was feeling miserable. After 40 years, why didn’t they make any thing better for the deaf passengers? Why do I have to keep suffering this way. Is it too much to ask for to have them satisfy our communication needs by putting up a closed captioned monitor at our gates?  It would be nice, then I could just read the words about when it’s time to board our plane. They didn’t have that on Dec. 22, 2012 when I was there. My day at the airport was making me quite miserable. If my daughter wasn’t with me, I don’t know what I would have done. I don’t feel comfortable asking strangers at the gate to tell me anything. Usually they don’t understand me when I tell them I am deaf and to please tell me when I have to board the plane. They look upset, like they don’t want to be bothered, and I don’t want to bother them. They probably don’t know anything about how to communicate with deaf people, so I can understand where they are coming from. Usually I would just keep asking the gate attendant if my plane is boarding, but the gate attendant is usually too busy with the passengers and checking their tickets. So I am stuck. My daughter told me it was time to go on board, so I followed her.
plane

Once we got settled into our seats there were a few announcements being made over the speakers. I didn’t understand any of them. Then before take off they did a safety demonstration with the lady upfront showing us the safety features of the airplane. I was sitting in the back, I didn’t understand one word being said. And I couldn’t see her or what she was doing. So that went on and at first I didn’t even know they were doing it because I couldn’t hear it over the microphone. My daughter told me. Why couldn’t she have used sign language? Why wasn’t there a closed captioned monitor at my seat? I wish there was one, so that way I could read what they were telling us about the safety demonstrations. Believe me, for 40 years, I had to sit through these safety demonstrations not hearing any of it and not understanding what to do. So if anything happened, I wouldn’t know how to save myself on the plane. I would probably just copy what someone else does if there is an emergency. You figured after 40 years of flying I would know what to do if there was a plane emergency. Nope I have no idea what to do, because they did not close caption the demonstrations and they didn’t use any sign language. So I didn’t hear any of it in 40 years, and I have been on the plane a 1000 times. Well I was dying for a drink. Well the flight attendant never walked by to ask if I needed anything. All I needed was a nice cold drink to make up for this miserable experience. And I didn’t get served any water or anything. Then we landed and I went to spend Christmas with my family in Michigan. Yes, It told them about this lousy experience and they sympathized with me.

Wasn’t there some law out that is supposed to protect the deaf passengers at airports to accommodate them to their needs? Well the Delta Airlines did nothing for my communication needs on Sat. Dec. 22nd, from the Buffalo airport. Yes, I notified the buffalo airport of this problem. But the Delta Airlines never sent me any apology or did anything to make up for it. As long as they get their money, they are fine. Guess what, this doesn’t stop here.  I’ve put up with your nonsense for many years of being ignored as a deaf passenger. It’s time for me to put my foot down and to ask you to respect the deaf passengers. I sure hope nobody else goes through what I did that day.

About wanda4848

I was born deaf. The doctors thought I could hear, but my parents couldn't get me to learn to talk. When I was three, my mom took me to an audiologist who concluded I was deaf. That's when I got my first pair of hearing aids and took speech therapy to learn to talk.

Posted on February 2, 2013, in deaf articles. Bookmark the permalink. 134 Comments.

  1. I just want to tell you that I’m new to weblog and honestly savored you’re web page. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your website . You surely have superb well written articles. Many thanks for sharing with us your webpage.

  2. I simply want to mention I am new to blogging and absolutely savored this blog. Probably I’m want to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with incredible article content. Many thanks for sharing your web-site.

  3. I apologize for this experience. I know an apology from them would be better but that is probably more difficult to get. It would seem like common sense for them to either train staff on the basics for common flight language for deaf individuals but they may think that this measure would cost too much money or time and effort until they are met with a lawsuit. Sometimes, I wish more people in the Deaf community would speak up or write letters to show thier dissatisfaction with these types of companies. I think it would have helped if they had signs posted to help deaf consumers know where to access thier infromation about deaf services or signs posted that have the basics signs and ways to interact with deaf consumers. I guess the positive is at least they had closed caption on the television. They could even add pre-taped videos in sign language (by professional interpreters) explaining procedures that flight attendants explain to the hearing passengers. I will be going on a trip in a few weeks and hopeful I remember to ask them about there deaf services and who I can send suggestions to. Thank God for your daughter, I know it may be alot for both her and you but I remember doing the same things for my mom and it has made me the person I am today.

  4. Hi, thank you so much for your information and thoughts. I have written to the airport and I asked them to post signs up a few weeks ago and to send out brochures to tell us about the deaf services they had to offer. This was their response, they said the airport didn’t want to spend the money on materials such as brochures because it becomes costly. But they will see what they can do after I have complained about their lack of information to the deaf people on what they have to offer there. When I asked if they could put up signs at the NFTA meeting and in my letters to the airport, I did not get any answers to that yet, so far. I am still waiting to see what they can change, because the airport did not do a good job of getting their information out to the deaf community. I knew nothing about their trained staff that knows sign language there. It is so good to talk to you, as you understand where I’m coming from and not getting enough answers to this problem so far from the airport.
    And I agree with you, I think more deaf people should speak up and write letters when it comes to problems like this. I had also asked the airport to do commercials on t.v. just like what you mentioned to show how the airport helps the deaf passengers. But they did not respond to that suggestion I made to them. I am still waiting, maybe they are working on it, so I will see what happens later. Have a great trip. 🙂

  5. I’m going to start a serious blog that will eventually hold a great deal of content. I am a graphic designer, and my husband does my web programming, so this is for reals (haha, yes I just said that). That being said, I’ve already started collecting my content and writing entries, but just how much content should a brand new blog have when you “unveil” it to the world (ideally)?. . Thanks :).

  6. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

  7. If you go to WordPress.com and go to themes, pick out the Mystique theme. That is the theme on this blog. And you’re welcome!

  8. Brilliant, thank you, I will bookmark you later!

  9. I was basically wondering if you ever considered switching the page layout of your blog? Its very well written; I really like what youve got to state. But maybe you can create a little more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

  10. That’s a good idea. What kind of layout do you think would work? And I realize it does need more pictures. And I’ll work on the spacing, just started this blog a month ago. I really appreciate your suggestions on helping me to become a better blogger. Thanks again. 🙂

  11. I was basically curious about if you ever thought of modifying the page layout of your blog? It is well written; I love what you have got to say. But maybe you could add a little more in the way of written content so people can connect to it better. Youve got a great deal of wording for only having one or two photographs. Maybe you can space it out better?

  12. Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

  13. Good website! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  14. Have you thought about adding some relevant links to your article? I think it will really enhance my understanding.

  15. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on web as compared to books, as I fount this article at this site.

  16. I love the look of your website. The colors are generally combined properly! Excellent problem, do you possess made a great design on your own along with graphics close friend? I want to understand, i will be content ordering design in order to my web-site!

  17. I experimented with taking a look at your website on my new iphone 4 and the structure doesnt seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your web page.

  18. I’m genuinely inspired along with your writing talent effectively with the layout to your weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it your self? Anyway stay up the outstanding high quality writing, it is rare to peer an excellent weblog like this 1 nowadays.

  19. Have you considered adding some videos to your article? I think it might enhance everyones understanding.

  20. I view something truly interesting about your weblog so I saved to favorites .

  21. Immediately, the article is in reality the sweetest on this laudable subject. I agree together with your conclusions and also definitely will eagerly appear forward to your approaching updates. Basically just saying thanks certainly will not basically be enough, for the incredible lucidity inside your writing. I surely will proper away grab your rss feed to stay privy of any kind of updates. Really very good function and a lot success in your business efforts!

  22. Brilliant, cheers, I will visit again soon!

  23. I enjoy your wordpress theme, where did you get a hold of it?

  24. This really answered my problem, thank you!

  25. Actually it’s referred to as Search engine optimisation that when i search for this paragraph I found this web page at the top of all web pages in search engine.

  26. I truly enjoy reading through on this internet site , it holds fantastic blog posts. “Beauty in things exist in the mind which contemplates them.” by David Hume.

  27. Thanks a lot for giving everyone an extremely nice opportunity to read articles and blog posts from here. It can be so lovely and jam-packed with fun for me and my office co-workers to search your website the equivalent of thrice in one week to read through the new items you will have. And definitely, I’m just actually fulfilled with all the eye-popping creative concepts you give. Selected 2 areas on this page are clearly the very best we have all had.

  28. Some genuinely nice and useful information on this website, also I think the layout holds good features.

  29. Thank you so much! Just click on the follow button above on the right corner and sign up with your email address. That’s all you have to do. Then when I do a new post, it will go straight to your email box. ,

  30. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the problem is one thing that not sufficient individuals are speaking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing regarding this.

  31. It¡¦s really a nice and useful piece of info. I¡¦m glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  32. I Am Going To have to come back again whenever my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Feed so i can read your internet site offline. Thanks.

  33. I see something genuinely interesting about your weblog so I saved to fav.

  34. Hey! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  35. I’m glad you found this post interesting and thank you for reading. 🙂

  36. This blog has a lot of really useful information on it. Thank you for helping me!

  37. I just like the helpful info you supply on your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I will be told plenty of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

  38. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

  39. That’s great! I’m really glad you were able to view it on your cellphone. Thank you so much for your wonderful thoughts here! 🙂

  40. When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

  41. There’s noticeably a bundle to find out about this. I assume you made certain nice factors in features also.

  42. This blog is very cool. How can I make one like this !

  43. I like this website very much so much wonderful information.

  44. I’m typically to running a blog and i actually appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for brand new information.

  45. Thank you so much. 🙂 🙂

  46. Thank you so much for your thoughts here! I really appreciate the wonderful comments you made. 🙂

  47. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  48. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this submit and if I may I want to suggest you few interesting issues or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles relating to this article. I wish to learn even more things approximately it!

  49. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  50. Please message me with some tips on how you made your website look this awesome, I would be appreciative.

  51. I have a blog on blogger and every time i go to my blog it counts it as a page view even when im logged in. How do i make it only count the views from other people?.

  52. This website has a lot of very useful information on it. Cheers for helping me.

  53. Doh! I was domain name shopping at namecheap.com and went to type in the domain name: https://wanda4848.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/delta-airlines-did-not-accommodate-any-of-my-communication-needs-as-a-deaf-passenger/ and guess who already acquired it? You did! lol j/k. I was about to shop for this domain name but realized it had been taken so I thought I’d come check it out. Nice blog!

  54. Everything is same candid with a earn explanation of the issues. It was really informative. Your website is fantastically helpful. Be grateful you for sharing!

  55. Thanks for the blog post, how can I make is so that I get an email sent to me every time there is a new update?

  56. You’re welcome! You can just hit the follow button on the top right corner. Then just enter your email address and check your email to verify your subscription.

  57. I am so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

  58. Thanks! I’m very happy to hear you liked reading this blog. 🙂

  59. I am not positive the place you’re getting your information, however great topic. I needs to spend some time finding out more or understanding more. Thank you for excellent information I was on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  60. You’re very welcome! 🙂

  61. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  62. Great, I’m glad it was helpful. And thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  63. Have you considered adding some videos to your article? I think it will really enhance viewers understanding.

  64. This really solved my problem, thank you!

  65. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.

  66. Just wanna input on few general things, The website style is perfect, the content material is really great : D.

  67. How do you make a blog site look this cool!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it!

  68. You’re welcome 🙂

  69. I went over this internet site and I think you have a lot of great info, saved to fav (:.

  70. Thanks, I’m glad this information is helpful :):)

  71. Wow! This could be one particular of the most helpful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Magnificent. I’m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

  72. I’ve been viewing quite a few of your content plus i have got to declare good stuff you can find the following! I’m going to most definitely save your web page! Help you subsequently!

  73. Thank you so much! 🙂

  74. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  75. Wow, thank you so much for your amazing comment here 🙂

  76. Along with the whole thing which seems to be building within this specific area, your viewpoints happen to be quite exciting. Nevertheless, I am sorry, because I do not give credence to your whole theory, all be it exhilarating none the less. It would seem to me that your comments are generally not completely validated and in fact you are your self not really completely convinced of the point. In any event I did take pleasure in reading through it.

  77. Thanks for stating your opinion and glad you liked reading this.

  78. Really superb information can be found on web blog.

  79. Particularly interesting cheers, It is my impression your trusty visitors may well want considerably more items of this character continue the excellent effort.

  80. Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

  81. I simply want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogging and absolutely savored your web-site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with perfect articles and reviews. Kudos for sharing with us your website.

  82. Some truly superb articles on this site, regards for contribution.

  83. I always was interested in this topic and stock still am, thankyou for putting up.

  84. I like this blog very much so much superb information. “The highest proof of virtue is to possess boundless power without abusing it.” by Lord Macaulay.

  85. primarily looks terrific even so the content is at the same time fantastic!

  86. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  87. Great, thanks Shirley! 🙂

  88. You’re very welcome and thanks for commenting!:)

  89. Greetings! I’ve been reading your website for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

  90. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  91. Thank you so much for your super feedback!:)

  92. Very shortly this website will be famous among all blogging
    users, due to it’s nice posts http://www.freearticlesdepot.com

  93. Wow, that would be cool. Thank you! 🙂

  94. You made some respectable factors there. I looked on the internet for the difficulty and located most people will go together with together with your website.

  95. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogging and really enjoyed your web-site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely have exceptional well written articles. With thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

  96. I simply want to tell you that I am beginner to blogging and seriously liked this web blog. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You really come with fantastic writings. Thanks a bunch for sharing your web page.

  97. I used to be suggested this web site via my cousin. I am now
    not sure whether this put up is written through him as nobody else realize such specified approximately my problem.
    You are amazing! Thanks! Ken

  98. I like this web site very much, Its a really nice situation to read and find info . “Reason is not measured by size or height, but by principle.” by Epictetus.

  99. Thanks, that’s good to know. 🙂

  100. Awesome post:) I like your blog! and am a longtime reader!! I will be back monday!!

  101. I Will have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Rss feed so i can read your web blog offline. Thanks.

  102. Great write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s website, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  103. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post plus the rest of the website is also very good.
    olivia

  104. It’s a embarrass you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I deduction on behalf of now i’ll settle in support of book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I give the impression of being mail to brand new to the job updates and will disclose this website with my Facebook categorize. Chat soon!

  105. I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thanks , Iˇ¦ll try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your website?

  106. Thanks! I usually update it once a week, mostly on weekends. Sometimes more than that.:)

  107. Wow! Thank you! I constantly wanted to write on my blog something like that. Can I implement a part of your post to my website?

  108. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Regards!

  109. Sure, that’s fine! 🙂

  110. This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am really pleassant to read all at single place.

  111. It is really a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  112. Hello. fantastic job. I did not expect this. This is a splendid story. Thanks!

  113. You’re welcome!:)

  114. There may be noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made sure good factors in features also.

  115. Somebody necessarily assist to make severely articles I might state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular post incredible. Wonderful activity!

  116. Iˇ¦ve learn several good stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you place to create such a fantastic informative web site.

  117. you’re really a excellent webmaster. The website loading velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a great task in this topic!

  118. Pretty good post:) I just came across your site and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your opinions:D Any way I’ll be coming back and I hope you post again soon!!

  119. I’ll right away take hold of your rss as I can’t find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  120. As soon as I observed this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  121. You’ve made some good points there. I checked on the net for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

  122. Thanks Scottie 🙂

  123. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  124. Thank you so much. 🙂

  125. Hi there, You’ve done an incredible job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  126. Thanks for your wonderful feedback! 🙂

I'd love to hear your comments

F O O T B A L L I S T S

"Everything I know about morality and the obligations of men, I owe it to football." — Albert Camus..................... "If God existed, he would be a solid midfielder." — Aleksandar Hemon................……………...........................

Gods of Advertising

We make you want what you don't need.

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

David Cummings on Startups

Over 2,500 posts on entrepreneurship and startups

Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Poemhenge

Pendraggin's Poems

Musings of a Momma

hard of hearing mom living in a small town

Beth Teliho

Read. Ingest the words. Like little blue pills, they will affect you.

the write mother daughter

Smile! You’re in the WRITE place

Transmedia Newswire

Global Networked Economy - Technology | Media | Telecommunications

Geek Alabama

Social. Local. Smart.

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

The Nice Thing About Strangers

Creative Non-Fiction Short Stories. :) Travel, Oldsters, Love, and Compassion.

Caitlin Munn

"Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself." (Dewey)

dvisualyoga

ASL, Yoga, HoH, Deafness, Art

Independent Ethos

Handmade with vinyl and celluloid

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Lea At Sea

I love to write, I love to read and I love the sea.

indianseoz

Learn SEO with us

Flights & Frustration

The rants, ramblings and ruminations of a frequent traveller.

God centered mom

relentlessly replacing "me" with "He"

God centered mom

relentlessly replacing "me" with "He"

John Chow dot Com

The Miscellaneous Ramblings of a Dot Com Mogul

Sweet Mother

Where my Old writing lives!

totalovrdose

Grab some grog and read this blog!

