Hearing Aids

Bluetooth Hearing Aids

Bluetooth Hearing Aids (Photo credit: ikesters)

hearing aid cartoonHearing aids are one of the greatest inventions for the needs of the deaf. I would be lost without them. The only times when I don’t wear them is when I’m in the pool, or sleeping, or my ears are sore. They can feel uncomfortable at times, but I am used to it. When I was a kid, I had to get a few stitches in my right ear. It seems like the rubbing of the ear molds on the ears can agitate it a little bit. Every 5 years,the audiologist sends me in for a hearing test to get an update on my hearing. When I was little my hearing loss was about 75% in my left ear and 80% in the right. This year I had two hearing tests done at the audiologist. They told me my hearing has gotten much worst. Β  per hearing aid, so that’s a total of 3,000 all together. So that is a blessing.

Sometimes they do break. And it is expensive getting them fixed. I always save an old pair on hand in case this happens. I really don’t want to go without wearing the hearing aids, I can’t hear anything if I don’t. When they are not on, it feels like all the sounds are being shut off. Then I feel uncomfortable going anywhere without them on. Mainly because I can’t hear voices, or talking, things like that. I feel lost. It’s the similar feeling of listening to your favorite music then someone shuts it off and you can’t hear it anymore. You’re feeling disappointed. Things I can hear without hearing aids, are doors that slam, or anything really loud. Like things being dropped to the floor, or any kind of banging sound, but that’s about it. If someone were to talk right into my ear close up, I would hear that. Strange isn’t it?

All my life I always wished I wouldn’t have to wear hearing aids anymore. Up to this day, I still can’t hear without them, so wearing them is a must. They make me feel so different from others. Almost like a bionic robot. When I was little I was ashamed of being seen with them. It just felt weird because I was the only kid in the school that wore hearing aids. It was almost embarrassing for me. When I first got them I had dreams of having a radio button being installed on my hearing aids, and always thought that would be so cool. Well that never happened. As I grew up, lots of people didn’t know what hearing aids were. Sometimes I would have to explain to them what they were used for and so on. Up to this day, I still don’t want to be seen wearing the hearing aids, and I’m 48 years old. The most embarrassing thing is when I’m in a room full of people and the hearing aids start whistling and I can’t hear it. Then people are staring at me like, what on earth is that noise? I hate it when that happens, I just want to go and hide. But I lived with using them all my life, so this is nothing new. Today I’m just grateful I can afford to get them, and that they are covered by my insurance. I need these things!

About wanda4848

I was born deaf. The doctors thought I could hear, but my parents couldn't get me to learn to talk. When I was three, my mom took me to an audiologist who concluded I was deaf. That's when I got my first pair of hearing aids and took speech therapy to learn to talk.

Posted on January 26, 2013, in deaf articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 128 Comments.

  1. I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You’re amazing! Thanks!

  2. Thank you for the insight into your world and the worlds around you.
    How would you describe your favourite place to be (when you are at that place) one sense at a time (as a poem/short story for each one of the five senses) out of your five senses? It would be interest to hear your thoughts in the colours of your words on each.

  3. You’re welcome! The mountains comes to my mind as a far away dream. It’s so peaceful here. I can see the valleys and streams flowing. Animals are everywhere but hiding behind the trees. I can hear the silence in the air, and breathing it in as fresh as new. The scenery is green and fresh. The streams are a bright blue and the water is sparkling.

  4. It’s an awesome article designed for all the internet visitors; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  5. You’re so interesting! I do not think I’ve read through a single thing like that before.
    So nice to discover somebody with a few genuine thoughts on this topic.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is something that is needed
    on the internet, someone with some originality!

  6. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  7. Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward
    this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! πŸ™‚ I have lived with hearing aids all my life so I know a lot about them. It means a lot to me to hear such positive feedback on this article. Thanks again for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  9. Wow, I’m so glad you enjoyed reading this post. πŸ™‚ And thank you for spreading out this information to others to read. I really appreciated your great and positive thoughts on this. πŸ™‚

  10. Thank you so much! If there’s any particular topic that interest you the most when it comes to being deaf let me know and I’ll see if I can write an article on that.

  11. I just read your article on Uhauls and it was interesting. Now I wish I would of rented
    one instead of hiring the moving truck when I moved 5 years ago. It would of saved me a lot of money.

  12. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m
    not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  13. Thanks for any other informative website. The place else may I get that kind of info written in such
    a perfect method? I have a undertaking that I’m just now operating on, and I have been on the glance out for such info.

  14. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to understand so much approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it
    or something. I think that you can do with some % to pressure the message house a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

  15. It’s completely free on Word Press. Just go to wordpress.com and sign up to make your own blog. Then when you go to themes, it shows you the different layouts you can use for your blog. This blog is used by the Mystique theme if you want to use one just like this here. You can also make a free blog at blogger.com. Good luck!

  16. Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful comments! I really appreciate hearing your thoughts, it’s very helpful to me to know how this blog is doing. πŸ™‚

  17. Hello everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web page, and paragraph is genuinely fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting such articles.

  18. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

  19. Excellent post. I certainly appreciate this website.
    Keep writing!

  20. Thank you! I’m so glad to hear that. πŸ™‚

  21. This is a comment to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your site: http://bag.sh/16M They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic than you have now. Hope this helps πŸ™‚ Take care.

  22. Stunning story there. What happened after?
    Good luck!

  23. Well every 5 years, I have to get new hearing aids. I could keep using the older ones I have, but the hearing aid shop professionals advise me to get the latest updates made. This is because the newer the hearing aids are, the better I can hear with those. I have to go through the same routine all over again, it’s like a check up. First I went to get my hearing test, to see if my hearing was getting better or worst. Found out it got a little bit worst. Then had to check out the new pair of hearing aids I want, and pick those out. Now, I just have to wait for a verification from my health insurance company to make sure they will pay for them. Then I’m all set to get them..

  24. I simply want to mention I’m very new to blogs and definitely loved this web blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You definitely come with impressive well written articles. Cheers for sharing your web page.

  25. I just want to tell you that I’m all new to weblog and truly liked this blog. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You definitely have exceptional article content. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your website page.

  26. I just want to say I am just very new to weblog and definitely loved this blog site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You actually have wonderful posts. Kudos for sharing with us your web site.

  27. Hi you have a nice blog over here! Thanks for posting this interesting information for us! If you keep up the great work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

  28. I’m creating a new blog about literature ( what I’ve read, what I’m reading), but I’m having trouble thinking of a title. I like the idea of something having to do with an obsession with literature but I think bookophilia is on the average side. What do you think of Litophilia? Is it too similar to “lithophilia” Which means the love of stones? Any ideas? Thanks!.

  29. My website is on a remote server, I have copied all the files from their remote host server. How do I now configure MAMP to see this as a local copy of wordpress so I can edit it and try out different themes. . Please help. I am pulling my hair out!.

  30. Terrific paintings! This is the kind of info that are meant to be shared around the net. Shame on Google for no longer positioning this post upper! Come on over and talk over with my website . Thank you =)

  31. Excellent blog here! Additionally your site loads up very fast! What host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink on your host? I want my website loaded up as fast as yours lol.

  32. My computer crashes at the start of a streaming video or of a full windowed video game?

  33. When someone writes an post he/she retains the image of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware of it. Thus that’s why this post is amazing. Thanks!

  34. I have a domain name bought, but i havent had time to make the website look nice. i want to forward the website url to my blogspot blog for the time being. how do i do this?.

  35. Weird , this post shows up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your webpage?

  36. I read this post fully concerning the difference of latest and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

  37. Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  38. Wow, pleasant YouTube video regarding how to install virtual directory, I totally got it. Thanks keep it up.

  39. If you could email me with a few hints on how you made your site look like this, I would appreciate it!

  40. Have you given any thought at all with translating your main site in to Chinese? I know a several of translaters here which might help you do it for free if you want to get in touch with me.

  41. Just to let you know your website looks a little bit strange on Safari on my netbook with Linux .

  42. Odd , this page turns up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  43. I am glad for writing to let you understand what a magnificent experience my wife’s princess undergone going through your site. She noticed plenty of issues, most notably how it is like to have an awesome teaching character to make others really easily know precisely some tortuous matters. You truly did more than readers’ desires. Many thanks for presenting the valuable, trusted, informative and also cool guidance on this topic to Kate.

  44. I Am Going To have to visit again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am taking your Rss feed so i could go through your web blog offline. Cheers.

  45. Im getting a small issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using yahoo reader by the way.

  46. I get pleasure from, lead to I found just what I used to be taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  47. Sorry to hear that. Actually this is on google. I’ll go on yahoo and add this website here today. Did you enclose this link for your readers to this blog? https://wanda4848.wordpress.com/

  48. Great! Good to hear this. πŸ™‚

  49. An cool blog post right there mate ! Thank you for posting .

  50. I adore that site layout ! How was it made!? Its so sweet!

  51. Brilliant, thanks, I will visit again later!

  52. I think the admin of this website is in fact working hard in support of his website, as here every stuff is quality based data.

  53. Hi there, its nice article on the topic of media print, we all be familiar with media is a great source of data.

  54. No one can reject from the feature of this video posted at this website, pleasant job, keep it all the time.

  55. Good Stuff, do you currently have a youtube profile?

  56. Great! And thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  57. Thanks!. I just applied for the Mystique Theme in WordPress.com.

  58. Sure, you can find my email address on my profile by clicking on the icon next to wanda4848. . What is the email address?

  59. Do youve got a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; weve created some nice strategies and we are searching to swap options with other folks, be sure to blast me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  60. Eventually, I became capable of finding the info i always dependence on our job. Thank you a hundred times. Zero Wikipedia and also other such websites. As of now, merely your blog!

  61. You’re very welcome! I’m glad you found what you were looking for.

  62. Are any of them free?

  63. Probably the greatest website having information on the niche. You detailed almost everything so that even I actually, having no market along with nothing to complete, I will understand. I examine your personal various other post, nevertheless out of fascination We examined average. Best wishes!

  64. Im having a little issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using google reader by the way.

  65. You need to do wonderful blog site, I am just examining that for quite a while. I’ve got to declare this is among the couple of personal blogs in which now i am looking forward to to help new articles. Good work!

  66. This is really a fantastic blog, would you be interested in doing an interview about just how you produced it? If so e-mail me personally!

  67. Very interesting details you have observed , thankyou for posting . “Opportunities are seldom labeled.” by John H. Shield.

  68. Rattling nice design and style and fantastic content, nothing at all else we require :D.

  69. Can you email me with a few hints & tips about how you made this blog site look this good , I would be thankful.

  70. Did you go to your email and click on the verification link approving you to receive the feed there?

  71. Thanks, my email address is in my profile if you want to contact me

  72. I love this blog site layout ! How was it made? It is rather good.

  73. We would are living to view the right time in case the get-togethers is more enjoy your own property. As soon as the articles really are legible and most importantly, realistic. In case the page is usually very well increased as well as great appearance. Much like your business opportunity!

  74. really beneficial material, in general I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  75. Im having a little issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using msn reader by the way.

  76. I like the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great content.

  77. I love the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great content.

  78. Appreciate it for all your efforts that you have put in this. Very interesting information. “It is within the families themselves where peace can begin.” by Susan Partnow.

  79. Hi Wanda, I like your blog regarding your hearing aids. I’ve worn hearing aids ever since about 1971, first in both ears then in 1985, when I lost all hearing in my right ear, I wore just one in my left ear. The one in my left ear worked well until my hearing started deteriorating in around 2000. Finally, in 2005, I received a Cochlear Implant (CI) in my right ear. It worked even better than my audiologist expected it to. Since then, I’ve continued to wear the hearing aid in my left ear along with the CI. With just my hearing aid alone, I’m basically deaf and can’t understand anything being said. However, with the hearing aid and the CI, I get better, fuller, and richer sounds. I hear well enough with both of them that I can use a regular telephone on “Speakerphone” very well. By using both, I hear in stereo and I can definitely tell the difference if I turn off my hearing aid. I too was embarrassed when I first started wearing my hearing aids, but then I thought, what the heck, people will just have to take me as I am and if they don’t like it, tough. Since then, I tend to sometimes forget that I’m nearly deaf. What I found while I was working, I’m now retired, was that if I acted normal, people tended to not even notice my hearing aids. I had a fellow engineer from another department that I’d worked with for nearly 3 years, say to me one day when he was behind me, that he didn’t realize that I wore hearing aids. (I thought he was kidding, but he said, no that he’d really never noticed them.) The other thing that I was happy about was that as far as I know I was never discriminated against because of my hearing aids. I went from being a technician to manager of some fairly large programs at the Aerospace company where I worked at for 28 years. I hope you well in your future and would highly recommend looking into getting a CI if your hearing deteriorates to the point that you can’t hear or understand speech. Hugs from another bionic person, πŸ™‚ Stan

  80. I think I sent you a reply as I am new to WordPress so I can’t find it. So I’ll write it again. It is amazing that you were so successful in life and that you became a manager in several programs. That is telling me that deaf people can be very successful if they want to be. You just gave me more motivation in accomplishing a goal I want in life, that I was afraid to go ahead with because of my deafness. Now, I realize I can go further ahead and do more with my intelligence and ability to speak up in larger groups on what needs to be done to help deaf people. Thank you for telling about your hearing loss and about the cochlear implant. I learned so much from it! πŸ™‚

  81. Could you email me with any hints on how you made your website look like this, I would be appreciative.

  82. I adore the blog site layout . How do you make it? Its so nice!

  83. I am new to this whole hearing aid thing, but like you, I am eternally grateful to have the resources to be able to get them, after all, what’s the alternative? Not hearing your friends and family and getting frustrated to no end. Thank you for the reminder of what a blessing they are!

  84. You’re welcome, I know what you mean. I tried to go for a day without wearing them, and I felt so lost without my hearing aids. They help me tremendously, as i can’t hear anything without them.:)

  85. Keep functioning ,impressive job!

  86. Hiya very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionallyΒ‘KI am satisfied to search out so many helpful info right here in the post, we want work out extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  87. If you could message me with any tips about how you made this blog site look this good, I would appreciate it!

  88. Greetings! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  89. I’m using the Mystique Theme on WordPress here. Why don’t you try blogger.com on google? That seems to be a really good blogging site which I’ve used for a while.

  90. It’s made on WordPress under the Mystique Theme.. Thanks!:)

  91. Thanks! My email address is here on my profile picture, just click on that. πŸ™‚

  92. You’re very welcome Leisa:)

  93. Thank you for your wonderful feedback here! πŸ™‚

  94. I am glad to be a visitant of this thoroughgoing blog, thank you for this rare info!

  95. You’re very welcome! πŸ™‚

  96. When are you going to post again? You really entertain me!

  97. Awsome site! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also.

  98. I love the blog layout . How do you make it. Its rather nice.

  99. whoah this blog is great i love reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  100. Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback here. It’s good to know that this can be helpful to others πŸ™‚

  101. Great! Thank you Zobacz:)

  102. Very soon, hopefully. πŸ™‚

  103. Thanks! It’s on WordPress.com. πŸ™‚

  104. Not sure what your email address is. But if you go to WordPress.com and apply for the Mystique theme by digital nature, that will take you to this type of blog. πŸ™‚

  105. I was looking at some of your articles on this website and I conceive this site is very instructive! Keep on posting .

  106. Thank you Christin! πŸ™‚

  107. Although I actually like this post, I think there was an spelling error near towards the finish from the third paragraph.

  108. Hey, thanks for informing me. I corrected the spelling. πŸ™‚

  109. Thank you! I really appreciate you taking the time to give your thoughts and it’s wonderful to hear this. πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Top

  2. Pingback: Organic skin products

  3. Pingback: Big or little “D”? | Mr. Multilingual

  4. Pingback: ecommerce

F O O T B A L L I S T S

"Everything I know about morality and the obligations of men, I owe it to football." β€” Albert Camus..................... "If God existed, he would be a solid midfielder." β€” Aleksandar Hemon................……………...........................

Gods of Advertising

We make you want what you don't need.

Gigaom

Technology news, trends and analysis covering mobile, big data, cloud, science, energy and media

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

David Cummings on Startups

Over 2,500 posts on entrepreneurship and startups

Steve Blank

Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

Barb Taub

Writing & Coffee. Especially coffee.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Poemhenge

Pendraggin's Poems

Musings of a Momma

hard of hearing mom living in a small town

Beth Teliho

Read. Ingest the words. Like little blue pills, they will affect you.

the write mother daughter

Smile! You’re in the WRITE place

Transmedia Newswire

Global Networked Economy - Technology | Media | Telecommunications

Geek Alabama

Social. Local. Smart.

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

The Nice Thing About Strangers

Creative Non-Fiction Short Stories. :) Travel, Oldsters, Love, and Compassion.

Caitlin Munn

"Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself." (Dewey)

dvisualyoga

ASL, Yoga, HoH, Deafness, Art

Independent Ethos

Handmade with vinyl and celluloid

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

helobiae

a celebration of life

The Bumble Files

The truth is in here

Lea At Sea

I love to write, I love to read and I love the sea.

indianseoz

Learn SEO with us

Flights & Frustration

The rants, ramblings and ruminations of a frequent traveller.

God centered mom

relentlessly replacing "me" with "He"

God centered mom

relentlessly replacing "me" with "He"

John Chow dot Com

The Miscellaneous Ramblings of a Dot Com Mogul

Sweet Mother

Where my Old writing lives!

totalovrdose

Grab some grog and read this blog!

